New Year, New Me?

This time last year I was in a nice safe job doing what I loved.  ie. working and coding on the VLE and making sure the college Moodle was working to its best ability.  I had no plans for world domination, and was just happy to be coasting along.  Today, things couldn’t be more different.

January 2016 and I am now the eLearning Coordinator for the college where I work.  I manage a team of great people and I report directly to an Assistant Principle.  Is this what I would have wanted from my career?  I’m not sure and here are the reasons why.

Rewind 12 months and I was king of my spot.  I knew the software I was responsible for inside out and back to front.  If someone wanted something doing, I could do it without having to think about it.  I was safe. But now, i’m in a more senior position and with what I feel is less knowledge.  I also find i’m having to depend on more people outside of my area to get things done which effect our department and myself.

But on the flip side, i’m having a great time being able to shape the direction of eLearning in a small part in the college and am loving this aspect of my new role.  Its also pushing me on as I’m not in a ‘safe zone’ anymore.  I’m making mistakes this year which isn’t great but each time i do, I learn something new. My self confidence has taken a nose dive since September but i plan on turning that around this year too.

So for this year in work I plan to do the following.

  • Make sure that I only worry about controlling what I can control (ie my team) and letting other people take responsibility for themselves.
  • Be more managerial in my approach to things – Be more assertive when i need to be both with my staff when needs be, but also to other managers when the situation requires it.
  • Learn more about being a good manager so I can help myself and my team to fly this year.

Aside from work I want to be able to be happy with my work/life balance more.  I need to stop worrying about work things at home and learn to leave work at work.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Scott's eLearning Library

technology tips for librarians and teachers

Hannah Tyreman

My learning adventures.

